Continuing the legacy of
Dan Snyder

About Dan

Dan loved hockey. Growing up in the small town of Elmira in Ontario, Dan played all of his minor hockey for Woolwich at the single A level. Dan also played one year for the Sugar Kings before being drafted in the 7th round by the Owen Sound Platers. After playing junior hockey for the Platers, Dan signed with Atlanta as a free agent in 1999. A feisty centre, Dan was a key member of the IHL champion Orlando Solar Bears in 2000-01, and the AHL champion Chicago Wolves in 2001-02. In the 2002-03 season, Dan achieved his dream of playing in the NHL, scoring 10 goals and four assists in 36 games with the Thrashers.

Dan was popular on the ice and off. He was always hard working and completely dedicated to his team. He was an avid participant in community events and causes in each city he played in, and has community awards named after him in Atlanta, Chicago, and the OHL.

AHL — Chicago Wolves

The Dan Snyder Man of the Year Award is given to the Chicago Wolves player who demonstrates the most outstanding dedication to Chicago area community service each year.

Winners: Spencer Machacek (2011), Brett Sterling (2010), Jordan LaVallee (2009), Nathan Oystrick (2008), Brian Sipotz (2007), Karl Stewart(2005, 2006) and Kurtis Foster(2004)

NHL — Atlanta Thrashers

The Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy is presented to the Thrashers unsung hero, the player who best embodies perseverance, dedication and hard work without reward or recognition, so that his team and teammates might succeed.

As of the 2011-2012 season, the Winnipeg Jets will continue to present this award in Dan Snyder's memory. Reported by Joe Yeorden in a June article on ProHockeyTalk "Winnipeg’s director of hockey operations and communications Scott Brown says that Snyder’s memory will continue to be honored when the team moves." The Snyder family was very pleased to hear this news and wishes to sincerely thank the Winnipeg organization.

Winners: Bryan Little (2011), Jim Slater (2010), Colby Armstrong (2009), Eric Perrin (2008), Slava Kozlov (2007), Niclas Havelid(2006), and Garnet Exelby(2004)

OHL — Ontario Hockey League

The Dan Snyder Memorial Award is given to one player in the OHL that has demonstrated outstanding qualities as a positive role model in the community. This link will take you to a video of the 2011 award presented to Jack Walchessen by Graham Snyder.

Winners: Jack Walchessen, Peterborough Petes (2011), Ryan Hayes, Plymouth Whalers (2010), Chris Terry (2009), Plymouth Whalers, Peter Stevens, Kingston Frontenacs (2008), Andrew Gibbons, Belleville Bulls (2007), Mike Angeledis, Owen Sound Attack(2006), Jeff McDougald, Peterborough Petes (2005), Chris Campoli, Erie Otters(2004)